"Georgian Dream - Democratic Georgia”
“United National Movement”
Parliamentary Elections of 2012
By order of the President of Georgia parliamentary elections were held on 1 October 2012. By the Constitution President can appoint the date of elections no later than 60 days before the election.

The Parliament is elected for a term of four years and consists of 150 members of whom 77 are elected by proportional system and the majoritarian system - 73.

For Elections, the country is divided into election districts and precincts. 73 single-mandate constituencies are set for Parliamentary elections, including ten in Tbilisi, the rest of the 63 municipalities (cities, districts) to coincide with the territory.

Electoral districts are in turn divided into election precincts. Polling stations are set up for no less than 20 and no more than 1,500 voters.

In the single-mandate election districts, can participate political parties or blocs, as well as the candidates - nominated by an initiative group of five.

Here the winner is elected of relative majority system used in the 30 - percent threshold. If no candidate receives more than 30 percent of votes, the second tour is assigned, in which take part the two candidates with the best results from the first round.

In the part, which is elected through proportional system, party can provide a list of candidates nominated by the political parties and electoral blocs to participate in elections. The number of candidates in the list does not have to be 100 - less than 200 - more.

The mandates of parliament members are awarded only to those party lists, which have received at least 5 percent of the votes in the elections.

FaceBook Twitter Digg MySpace Delicious Google E-mailPrint